TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Formerly Fdawg97LX
3,186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i will be putting a pi intake on soon so i figured it would be a good time to upgrade the plenum and throttle body. i'm just wondering how difficult it is to port the upper plenum. i have no experience with port work. also how much should i expect to be charged by a shop to do the porting for me. also what would be the best combo, 70mm tb and plenum or 75mm? can the stock plenum be ported to 75mm? would you guys reccommend going with an after markt plenum over porting the stocker?

Frank

·
Refrigerator Raider Hater
11,719 Posts
There is tons of info on Modular Depot on this.

I am planning on boring a stock plenum to 75mm and putting on a 75mm TB. I say boring because the stock bore is ~67mm, and 8mm would be alot to "port". I've been quote $50 for the boring, and I can clean it up and polish it myself. Just need a spare!

IMHO, porting the stocker would give you 90% of the gain of an aftermarket plenum, for half the cost. Just my take on it.

·
Registered
809 Posts
I bored mine out to 70mm and that was as big as I could go because there is a lack of material. The problem is you can't get the air flow to make a nice gentle curve like the C&L one. In the stock one the the air comes straight in and more or less hits a wall. I have the C&L one but haven't gotten around to installing it yet.

·
Formerly Fdawg97LX
3,186 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
does the c&l one bolt right up or do you have to modify it to work? doesit need to be drilled too?

Frank

·
Registered
809 Posts
The C&L one needs to be drilled and tapped for one more vacum fitting, other than that it bolted right up. I can't feel any power power increase. I wasn't expecting to but it would have been nice.

·
Formerly Fdawg97LX
3,186 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
what is the extra vaccuum fitting for, the brakes?

Frank

·
Banned
1,162 Posts