TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys
Last Monday I bought 1994 TBitd LX in great shape except one thing. After 20mins I've bought it the transmission started to act wierd - when I tried to go from stop it wont go - RPM are goin up but car is stopped, after a while you feel the gear goes on and car start to move, however the RPM is goin up faster than car is speeding up. It goes like this on 1, 2, D with and without OD, reverse is working great. It doesnt feel like slipping on higher gears like 3 and 4, it switches with no problems, smoothly. The oil level is good and smell burnt,

Any idea whats dead? I hope its nothing serious...

thx

·
Registered
1,651 Posts
I'm no expert but it sounds like the Torque Converter, Bad Check Balls (FORD Disease), or Dirt in your Valve Body. You could try a fluid and filter change to clean out the valve body (the brain of the transmission). It could be a bad band as well, that's what happened to mine, you rev high but the car goes mad slow. That's usually caused by particulates caught in the valve body which screws up the functions of the transmission. There are magnets in most valve bodies to catch most particulates, but it only works on really fine particles and doesn't catch everything.

·
Registered
112 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks , when it happened to you was it like this on every gear or just one particular i.e. 1 or 2?

Do I have to take the tranny out or I can do it on car just removing oil pan?

·
Registered
2,977 Posts
That isn't the torque converter if you have reverse and it is "working great". As long as the fluid is truly full then it sounds like the forward clutch is toast. That is even more likely if OD feels rock solid.

Darrin

·
Registered
1,651 Posts