TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am doing a pi head swap on a 97 mustang gt and put in comp 262h cams and bbk shorty headers.

Any tricks or advise on how to deal with the oil stick tube while trying to install the driver head with the header attached? It was a real pain to get off and can just imagine how much fun it will be to put on with the bigger header attached. passenger side should be okay.

I installed the cams and the timing mark looks more like 11 o'clock than 10:30. is this okay, is it possible they have some degrees built in? I am a noob at this and I had expected when you turn the cam it would be smooth and continuous but it makes like 4 sudden lurches per revolution. Now when it is at the 11 o'clock that should correspond to #1 TDC. Those valves are completely closed. on the driver side the third piston is TDC but on the head the valves are partially open. Is this not right or am I thinking too much?

Can I check for valve interference by putting on the chains and tensioners without torquing down the heads first? Don't want to ruin the head gasket or the head bolts and only find I got a problem.

·
MAMN12 Posse Member
2,903 Posts
Why not just take the dipstick out until you get the head on? It should be easy enough to wiggle it back down through. I'm not sure how a Mustang's is compared to ours, but I believe the dipstick goes down through the header.

Don't worry if the cam isn't smooth as you turn it. It'll be 'jerky' like you said it was.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Jeff you made me touch my computer screen with your roaming gnat.