TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Boom.
5,238 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just had my last test for chem I, and what should have been a relatively simple question is really bothering me and I can't think straight right now. So anyone who can answer it wins a prize...er, maybe just my thanks. Anyways, here is the question:

Calculate the bond order of the N-N bond in the N2(2+) ion.
a. 0
b. 1
c. .5
d. 2
e. 3 (maybe?)

My book gives about a paragraph re: BO and it's not helping me at all.

Thanks!

·
Registered
859 Posts
Well, I'm a Chem teacher.... but.... its been a long time since I've dealt with bond order. I'll try to look it up to refresh my memory this weekend.

Edit:

Ok, it depends on how you calculate it. If you use a Lewis diagram like so:

you count up the number of bonding pairs of electrons, which gives this bond an order of 3.

Edit part 2:

The other way to do it is to figure out the number of bonding and antibonding electrons in the molecular orbitals. Bond order is equal to (bonding - antibonding) / 2.

The lower part of each pair of molecular orbitals is the bonding orbital, the upper part is the antibonding orbital. There are 8 bonding electrons, 4 antibonding electrons, giving you a bond order of 2. What this means is that my Lewis Diagram that I drew was wrong, and the answer is bond order of 2.

I hate drawing Lewis diagrams for polyatomic ions...

Hope this helps.

Oh, BTW. For my prize, I'd like a Cobra Intake for my 5.0.

·
Registered
7,557 Posts
Johnny Cougar said:
Oh, BTW. For my prize, I'd like a Cobra Intake for my 5.0.
Psst... Go for the supercharger! Go for the supercharger! :diablo:

I think it's just the way that it's stated, or maybe it's been too long since I've had Chemistry. So, how'd you do on the test?

·
Boom.
5,238 Posts
Discussion Starter #4