TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im a t-bird newbie i own a 95........whats the easy things i can do to hop up the performance on this little v8?...any info appreciated! email is:[email protected] ;)

·
Automatic Weapon
1,219 Posts
The 4.6 is not a performance engine and the Thunderbird is not a race car, buy a Honda.

now, if you're still here, and you are willing to sink some money into this thing, we can make her scream!

·
Registered
9,966 Posts
Big-Al said:
now, if you're still here, and you are willing to sink some money into this thing, we can make her scream!

i concur. you be going as fast as your bank account or wife says you can.

joseph

·
Registered
2,565 Posts
For $500, do the J-Mod and get it chipped or tuned. You will love completely new way your car drives. You'll probably have some money left over after that, put it toward gears of your choice and a trac-lok differential if you don't already have one. After that you should be in the high 14's-low 15's without even touching the engine. Then, either swap in a PI engine or a DOHC engine-I hate to break it to you, but the 94-95 engine will fight you for every HP. Put a little shot of nitrous on that engine swap and you're looking at 13s.

·
02 Explorer Pioneer
2,880 Posts
I believe SloMo's post is the most sensible and best bang for the buck trans mod and chip from blue oval chips. I've done all the different mods you can do on a 95 and those are definitely the place to start and most bang for the buck.

·
Trumpeter Extraordinaire
2,916 Posts
My 2¢ worth:

I suggest start out by making the car breathe better, and going after the transmission.

1. Improve the intake (example: remove the air silencer for $Zero, and do something like the Civic Intake Installation some folks do - $50)

2. Improve the exhaust (example: Dynomax system from Summit Racing, part #WLK-17379, $210 + shipping; installation is a simple DIY)