TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been driving Tbirds for the last 10-12 yrs. Someone once told me drive what you know, so I been trying to learn all I can about Tbirds. The last two that I own
have a similiar quirk.First the colder it gets the more this happens, To start the car I have to hold the key in the start position for upward of ten seconds before the car will roll over and start. It starts fine just won't rollover. I hear a clicking under the hood like the starter solenoid. but it seem to come from the left side of the car and the starter is on the right. It's been doing this for as long as I've own the car, second quirk is the key. I can take the key out of the ingintion with the key on which I do like. also I can start both of them with either key. I once was looking at a use Tbird on a dealer lot on a whim I tried my key and started it. anyone else had dthis issues.

·
Registered
4,407 Posts
Wow the clicking I don't know about.Maybe its an exhaust click/Tap?

The key,I can pull mine out of the ignition while driving.I don't like it too much because I have to make sure the steering column is locked before I get out of the car.Or you can start it without the key.

Also with starting another ford with your key,I was able to unlock my Moms 96 Mustang with my Thunderbird key.I would have to say it was a similiar Key code with worn tumblers in the Cylinders.

·
5,650 Posts
My 96 3.8L would do the "click" thing when the key is turned. The problem was the ignition switch. Are you positively sure the clicking is from the driver's side? The only things that can click on that side are the relays in the power distribution box and the ABS stuff if you have that. Sounds can be tricky to locate.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #5