TCCoA Forums banner

Well, didja quit?

• Nope. Still smoking. Want to quit, though.

Votes: 5 10.4%
  • Still smoking and always will.

Votes: 4 8.3%
  • Tried to quit, but didn't.

Votes: 4 8.3%
  • Tried to quit, and did.

Votes: 11 22.9%
  • I don't smoke at all.

Votes: 24 50.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
493 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I'm 17. I've been smoking for 3 years.

THen I realized, holy ****. I'm paying $3.45 per day for some unhealthy (if enjoyable) habit. Time to quit. My car smells like **** to everyone but smokers.

I made one attempt before, but girlfriend trouble ended that.

Two weeks ago I set the date - Wednesday, December 3, as my quit date. That's the end of Thanksgiving break. I'll have energy to deal with it, and something to do (school). If this attempt doesn't work, I've got a prescription for Zyban, but it's not cheap ($120 for the treatment, not covered by insurance).

So who here's quit? Who here's tried? Any tips?

·
Sheepish
4,085 Posts
How much do you smoke a day? A whole pack? Set a limit for yourself, so many cigs a day. 24 to a pack, limit yourself to 12-16 cigs a day for a week or so and step yourself down. When you can make a pack last nearly a week or more, let it run out and just don't buy any more. Hang away from smoker friends during that cold turkey time and it'll make it a bit easier. Cold turkey straight up ain't easy, but for some, its the only way.

·
Registered
493 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Staying away from the smokers isn't easy. Whole house smokes, so does everyone at work :/

I also tried sloping down, but I'd end up smoking the same amount just to keep from stale cigarettes. I don't work at all this week, so I can stay away from them.

Too bad I dont have any money to do some car projects :/

But yeah, a whole pack a day. That's enough nicotine to kill a person, and probably enough tar to pave a 1"x1" square :p

·
Registered
4,205 Posts