TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
RADAR Detector Hardwiring

I want to hardwire my RADAR detector into the fuse panel. I thought I could just run the + lead into a fuse with eithe rconstant DC or "key on" DC and ground to the chassis. I did that and it didn't work. Any suggestions?

·
Refrigerator Raider Hater
11,719 Posts
I wouldn't hard wire such a device. When you get pulled over, the cop will see the detector and write you up for anything he can. You need to be able to rip it off and throw it in the center console, under the seat, or in glove box.

wire it in parallel with something (radio?) that is on the circuit you want.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to electronics. Will I need to ground to the same ground as the circuit from which I get my power? I thought about using the wiring that runs into the cigarette lighter? How would I do that?

·
5w30 Guzzler
1,462 Posts
it doesnt matter where the ground comes from as long as it's a substantial one. i dont know about the cigarette lighter. i know that they use a lot more current than just a radio so i guess it depends where you wire it from the cigarette lighter.

·
Registered
1,565 Posts
GreenBird said:
I wouldn't hard wire such a device. When you get pulled over, the cop will see the detector and write you up for anything he can. You need to be able to rip it off and throw it in the center console, under the seat, or in glove box.

wire it in parallel with something (radio?) that is on the circuit you want.
i would recommend hard-wiring it, that way you dont have to turn it on and off manually and it looks much more clean cut. ive always hard-wired my radar detectors. ive been pulled over probably 10 times with the radar detector in plain view and not received any sort of ticket.

·
Registered
7,557 Posts