TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My transmission isn't going to last a whole lot longer. I plan on buying one and rebuilding it. My friend has a 4r70w that I have not yet bought but plan to. I want to rebuild this to handle a bit more power and I have NO experience with autos. So, I've compiled a list of parts that I think will be needed that I've found through research and would like some input on what I've missed. (Because I'm sure I've missed some)

This is the rebuild kit I was looking at.

From this site.
http://www.transmissioncenter.net/aode.htm

AODE / 4R70W Combo Kits

#K6. Fits Ford 4R70W transmissions, 1993 - 2002. You get the #5-4R70W Alto Red Eagle master rebuild kit for 4R70W transmissions. It comes with all Red Eagle clutches and Kolene steels, high performance direct RedEagle PowerPack, the #8 AODE / 4R70W Fairbanks high performance TransAction kit. This TransAction kit includes a newly designed OD servo piston and a no leak performance design 2-3 accumulator piston. Includes steel boost valve and sleeve to replace worn OEM valve. This is the same kit we use in the Interceptor transmissions. Both for $417.00

Along with that I "think" these parts will be needed.
(Click to enlarge)

4R70W Carbon Fiber Overdrive Band. Cost $22.50

4R70W New Borg Warner Low / Reverse Band. Cost $29.70

4R70W pressure control solenoid. Fits 1992 - 1997 or 1998 up transmissions

Dominator" heavy duty torque converter for AODE / 4R70E transmissions. Good up to 400 horse power. 1800 stall speed $164.25. Can be ordered with a 2500 or 2800 stall speed for $255.00. This is a 11 3/4 inch converter with a 10 1/2 inch bolt pattern. The #13 and #13XX converters will not interchange because the flexplates are different.

Extreme Duty mechanical diode conversion kit for 1992 - 1998 AODE and 4R70W transmissions. Cost $137.70

Extreme Duty hard intermediate shaft for AODE / 4R70W transmissions. Cost $134.00