TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm trying to replace my spark plugs-this is my first time- so before i start I would like to know how to take out the wires. Is a tool needed, or is there a technique to apply?
Also, how do you gap the plugs?

Thanks in advance for any helpful info.

·
8,239 Posts
pull the wires straight out with your hand. Pull them by the rubber boot, not the wire itself or you will damage the wire. Don't use a tool like pliars to pull the boot, you will damage the boot, it takes some muscle but they come off with not too much effort.

Its a pretty simple deal on any 4.6.

You will want to pull off the plastic "violin case" (where it says 4.6), and set that aside before you begin work. This way you can get to all the spark plugs with a long extension bar and a spark plug tool. The violin case mounts on with a couple metric bolts, and you can pull off the clamps with a screwdriver.

A good tip is to do one wire at a time so that you don't mix up the firing order.

You can buy a plug gapping tool at any auto store for about 99 cents. Stock gap is 0.054, some guys are running 0.060 with no trouble (myself included)

I would say don't put any plug in the car except an autolite/motorcraft copper plug.

Also make sure that you use some anti seize on the new plug threads, and don't over tighten the plugs. Just get them hand tight with the extension, then snug them up. It says on the plug how far you should go, i think it's a 1/4 turn after finger tight.

JH

·
Registered
811 Posts
JustinH is exactly correct. It is not hard at all. I also agree with chilipepprflea and to blow them sh!ts out, I couldn't belive the crap that was sitting ontop of the wire boots.:beek:

·
Registered
1,164 Posts
Replacing Spark Plugs