TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was working on my dads Tbird the other day. It had died on him and he had to get it towed home. Anywho i was checking the plugs and 5-8 were clean and looked great for an engine with 205k miles and the original plugs. Now number one was clean. Number 2 plug had a faint smell of raw fuel. Number 3 was drenched in oil, and number 4 had oil in the threads. But the electrode was clean. Now im new to mod motors so please bear with me. I only work on old 302s and falcon 6s. When it has oil on the electrode would that be bad valve seals? Or would the rings be going bad on it? I dont have a compression tester at the moment. Also when a plug has oil on the threads would that be a bad valve cover gasket? Thanks for any info. My dad is getting a windstar now and i want to fix up this tbird to drive since i currenty dont have any daily. - Alex

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the info guys! The odd thing was that the car didnt smoke one bit. Do any of you know if the parts store carry the tool to remove the valve springs? Or it is possible to make a tool to remove them? Also can i use the rope method to hold up the valve? Since I dont own an air compressor.

·
Registered
1,032 Posts
Summitt has valve spring compressor for the 4.6 for like 29.95, made by Trick Flow. Might be DirtyDog or RichardP here or others have it?

205,000 miles on stock, original plugs, on a '95 ..... WOW . That's a long time. I'm thinking of doing mine at 64,ooo. I have the tool too, thnk I'm gonna do stem seals when I do plugs.

205,000 miles!

·
WOT Junkie and avid corn burner
3,734 Posts
Do all the routine maintenance first, then go from there. I'm surprised those spark plugs have lasted that long. they are supposed to be replaced every 100,000 miles, but I've never seen the originals last that long. I like to replace mine every 50,000 miles, that is, if they are the Motorcraft platinums.

·