TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys well i have the option to pick up a very clean 89 SC with a rebuilt 5 speed, but no engine. Anyone have any feedback on what else can be shoehorned in that baby to get it rolling again? Obviously another 3.8 SC engine, but any thoughts on something else, 4.6, 5.0 , or thoughts on the cheapest route to go? Just looking to possibly make it a screw around track car for a couple guys, split costs.

·
Registered
1,544 Posts
I'm no expert but without changing transmissions you're looking at a 3.8SC or 302/351 if you're going to strip the electrics and go track only. 4.6 bell housing pattern is different.

·
Registered
3,180 Posts
Even with the 3.8SC, the cam is different depending on if it was destined for an automatic or 5-speed. Just something to keep in mind...

At least that's what I recall hearing in one of these dry boring Ford tech videos.

http://forums.tccoa.com/showthread.php?t=95369

·
Registered
282 Posts
Southpaw said:
Even with the 3.8SC, the cam is different depending on if it was destined for an automatic or 5-speed. Just something to keep in mind...

At least that's what I recall hearing in one of these dry boring Ford tech videos.

http://forums.tccoa.com/showthread.php?t=95369
The are some years/tranny options that had different grinds, but not enough to worry about.

You can swap in a 302/351 block or as several have done, 460 based block.

·
Registered
4,923 Posts
Yeah, the 89 Manual had a slightly more agressive cam .. all the rest should be the same for both autos and manuals.

- Dan

·
Registered
7,062 Posts
I checked those cam specs. Comical to say more aggresive.

A 5.0 would be a fun choice. However the SC is fun too and it's ready for the 3.8 now.

·
Premium Member
8,978 Posts