TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I decided to go out and buy a TransGo Shift Kit. I haven't got it yet, but I was reading the tech articles; am I going to need the things that are listed under it(accumulator pistons and such), or do they come with the kit? Also, how hard is installation? Seeing as how I've never done it before, how long will it take me?

·
Registered
3,192 Posts
dont get a trans-go kit, do the j-mod instead. read up on it in the tranny section on the tech articles. the man who designed it :bowdown: knows these tranny's inside and out. of course he should he engineered it but anyway if you read those articles he will explain why not to use those aftermarket shift kits. basically they're bad for your tranny. one other quick thing, either method you choose you also might want to think about a tranny cooler.

·
Registered
4,205 Posts
There is one major reason not to buy the Transgo kit:

EPC overpressure relief valve, I don't buy it, it seems worse than having an overpressure situation.

Do the JMod, it's easier, cheaper, and better.

·
Registered
2,662 Posts
dealer. Should only be a few bucks. Don't forget the separator plate gaskets as well. That should be a dealer part as well. I got all of my parts from the local dealer, and spent maybe $35-ish bucks total. I would also call Dan Newman and see what he can do for you, if you can wait a few days for the shipping. He would prob. be able to give you a better price than the local stealership.

·
Registered
364 Posts
nidex said:
Alright, where do I go and buy the accumulator pistons and such? Would AutoZone have them or would I have to go to the Ford dealer?
Ford.

·
Registered
4,205 Posts
uh, yeah, harder if you want it to, read the tech article. If you want it to shift really hard, go with the 450 HP level..

BTW, my parts were $28 from Dan Newman

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #10