TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Johnny Bling Bling
3,811 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
about 2 weeks ago i think i injured my groin. i'm not a doctor, and don't have time to visit one, but i think that's what it is. it was bearable until this weekend. it now seems worse, and a i get a sharp pain when walking, though not all the time. the pain now is in a different spot than the first pain. i can also feel some pain in my upper knee area on the right leg...same side as the sharp pain. i was reading that there would be some bruising, but the only bruise i see is on my left leg, though it is pretty good size....larger than a baseball. obviously i cannot take weeks off of work to "heal". is there some otc that will assist?

reason being, i assume, is the baseball league i joined after not playing for about 10 years!!! :)

·
Premium Member
3,247 Posts
And you haven't seen a doctor yet? Not having the time is just a cop-out - what happens if it gets worse to the point where you are hospitalized?

Where is the unbearable pain? In your abdomen?

Can you go to one of the "first-stop" type of walk-in medical places?

·
Johnny Bling Bling
3,811 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
pain is in upper right leg.....near my man purse!!

edit: i have been taking generic ibuprofin to amuse myself, but it doesn't seem to do anything.

·
Premium Member
3,247 Posts
Being an EMT - I can only say that at this point - since the pain is getting worse - you should seek medical attention.

Otherwise;

You can always try applying heat to the injured areas, as well as taking an anti-inflammatory drug such as ibuprofen, or one that you have taken before.

Some people will argue for ice, but heat allows more circulation of blood to the affected area.

Not to try and scare you or anything, but since you don't mention the mechanism of injury, it is possible you could have a damaged femoral artery, and if that let's go........

·
Johnny Bling Bling
3,811 Posts
Discussion Starter #5