TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,222 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My cousin told me he would give me this turbo if I thought it would work on my car. I wanted to hear your opinions on whether or not you think it could work for me. It is a Garrett TA34. The compressor side has a A/R .50 with about a 3" inlet and 1.5-2" outlet (this seems a little on the small side to me). The turbine has a dual inlet flange, and has about a 3" outlet. I believe the casting said it had a 1.15 A/R but it's kind of hard to read (this seems kind of large to me).

The turbo itself is actually from a John Deere tractor with a diesel and a displacement between about 450 and 600 CI, or so I am told. I don't really know much about turbos, or forced induction, but I have done some reading over at turbomustangs.com and feel like I have some basic knowledge, but would be uncomfortable with sizing and such. I don't know how to determine the trims and wheel sizes either. I have been searching for info on it, and I think it might be some variant of the T04(E?) but I'm not for certain.

I wouldn't really be looking for something that would be putting out a ton of horsepower. I'd be happy seeing about 6-8 psi of boost and about 350 hp or so (a little more would be nice, but not a necessity) at the crank, considering that I will still have a stock shortblock. From what I have gathered from searching, it seems the larger turbine housing will make the it spool later, and the "smaller" compressor might limit the output. I wouldn't really mind if it started making boost a bit later in the rpm range, say maybe 3000-3200 rpms or so, as long as it did not end up choking the engine at higher rpms.