TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, as I've never been into big stereos before recently, I'm not really sure what's good and what's not...

I plan to get some 600 watt Infinity Kappa 572.5cf 5"x7" 2-way Speakers next month, 4 5 x 7s for the bird's high and mid range sound....buuut now I'm confused.

When I go for amps and subs and all what's good for the Bird? What fits, sounds good, etc?

I appreciate any advice! Thanks!

·
Registered
1,846 Posts
Well, the first thing you need to do is look at the RMS power figures instead of peak power figures. The Kappas you mentioned handle no more than 100 Watts RMS. Your best bet would be to look them up at Crutchfield. I've been using Crutchfield for the past 8 years to get all the product specs. So, for two pairs of those 572.5cf Kappas, you would need an amp that produces 400 Watts RMS total.

As far as what amps sound good/bad, I'd like to hear some opinions from more experienced people. I personally happen to like Pioneer, though I'd prefer to buy something like Hifonics for my (future) setup. Hope this helps you out a bit.

Jim

·
Registered
2,201 Posts
this is a tough subject, as most comes down to the owners personal preferance. I like Eclipse amps for mids/highs, but would go with rockford, mmats, JL Audio, or even MTX for a sub amp.

I use Audiobahn aw1200x subs in my install, they hit nice and hard, while still retaining good composure, and clarity.

But like I said, it all comes down to the end users (you) personal preferance

·
Registered
1,846 Posts
It's weird how crutchfield sells a lot of good audio equipment at bit too high of prices, but doesn't offer many well-respected name brands. I mean those brands that are known in the audio industry. I just looked at their latest catalog and they stopped carrying Pioneer.

Speaking of Crutchfield...