Votes: 10 55.6%
  • Other Custom Parts?

Votes: 5 27.8%
1 - 20 of 305 Posts

·
Super Moderator
12,235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So in the spirit of "getting back into it", I think I want to perhaps take on some metal (steel/aluminum) fabrication of suspension/bracing type stuff for others if there is a need. As tedious as making/customizing longtube 4.6 headers was, I'm quite confident I can tackle suspension/bracing type stuff. Steel and aluminum is expensive, and so is my free time (since I have so little of it :)), but right now I feel as though I have to do something. That being said I'm willing to largely forego the value of my time and work for 'beer money'. So what is in need around here that I could consider? I have welders galore and I can turn/mill small parts on my lathe/mill as well as shape on a press/brake/english wheel (though I'm not that good at it :)). I don't have 3.8/5.0 specific parts to mock-up though, so it would pretty much be stuff either 4.6-based or universal to mn12s.

·
Administrator
1997 Thunderbird LX
9,141 Posts
A lot of people are always asking about bracing so that's a possibility.

Joe

Reactions: CDsDontBurn

·
Super Moderator
12,764 Posts
That would be bad ass!!
I may get you to weld my mach 1 intake back together, when I get thru ******* it up. :)
In case you missed it, my dumb ass tried to remove the freeze plugs by filling with water, and letting it freeze.
Needless to say, it resulted in a 'part line' in the plenum, instead. :)
So, I cut it open, and am porting the bottom side too. There's a shitload of flash everywhere."mold lines",I guess is a better word.
I ported my C-heads following the advice I got from Nick, and I didn't hit any water jackets. :)

Reactions: mercenvy

·
Administrator
1994 Cougar XR7 DOHC/5-Speed
21,284 Posts
A tubular K would be awesome, but that's asking a lot. True subframe connectors from K to the rear subframe would be the most useful and universal pieces, IMHO.