TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4,205 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do you reset the timing chain adjusters??????? Is there a special trick or tool for it?

·
Registered
104 Posts
Im sure you are talking about the tencheners.
Its ez, stick a small screwdriver in the hole, push the lock over, at the same time push in the slidebar and locking devise, remove screwdriver, done.
If you have a vise its alot better.
FASTFORD!!

·
Registered
3,902 Posts
Yeah, he's definitely right. I've done this about 3-4 times. You move the lock over, i think i used a small allen wrench. Then I slowly compressed the piston in with a vise. Then used the same small allen wrench to lock them in place. Install the tensioner and chains on the car, then pull the allen wrench and the piston pops out some. Hope this helps!
-Rob

·
Registered
4,205 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks, this is my first time inside a DOHC 4.6, and it's a bear to work on. I'm used to my old 302's and 351C's. Kenneth has the block and the busted up head right now, maybe he'll snap some pics, but the total damage was:

4 broken pistons
scarred crank
scarred cylinder
Beat up cylinder head
Vortech that leaks oil into the intake

Not bad for a day's work. Glad it's not my dime fixing it. The guy who owns the Cobra hit the rev limiter at about 9 lbs of boost and closed the tops of the pistons down onto the rings, and 1 piston shattered, and he drove it for 2 weeks after this, and it beat up the head pretty bad.

·
Registered
3,902 Posts
Wow! I can't believe the guy way able to drive the car for 2 weeks with 4 screwed up pistons! Is the block salvageable?
-Rob

·
Registered
498 Posts
Oh no...damage is worse than that. Financial damage that is.

We're resleeving #8 cylinder. He's gonna get new valves, and seats for cylinder 8. The rest are getting cleaned up. And I'm gonna need the other head to get them all worked. The only way people can clean up the head is with a 3 angle valve job. Eek.

·