TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1994 Thunderbird with the N/A 3.8L engine. Can it be turbo charged for less than a fortune? Can I get a turbocharger off some other car to use on mine? Sorry if I sound ignorant I am a newbie to the bone.

·
Registered
182 Posts
I'm not entirely sure, but from what I've heard you can use a turbo off of a turbo coupe. You would also have to have a header that would allow you to bolt on the turbocharger.

·
Registered
46 Posts
I won't be one of those search nazi's..however you could have searched before you posted this :)

In short, sure it can be done..but it is not really worth while to do it to a 3.8NA.

The internals are not made for it, nor is the exhaust or anything else. Many folks will tell you to just drop the 3.8NA and buy a SC or TC. Personally I am ripping my 3.8 out and putting a 5.0 in(which is more work than anyone will ever know)

Tim

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
oh I am sure. I have done swaps before although it was just a 355 into a Camaro, I cant imagine how much work this will be. I think that is most likely going to be the route I take.

·
Registered
3,391 Posts
verumgero said:
I have a 1994 Thunderbird with the N/A 3.8L engine. Can it be turbo charged for less than a fortune? Can I get a turbocharger off some other car to use on mine? Sorry if I sound ignorant I am a newbie to the bone.

Not worthth it. Save your money.

·
Registered
268 Posts
ive been thinking about the same set up actually, if i were able to aquire a wrecked turbocoupe with all the engine components in tact would that be most of what i needed to add the turbo into my 3.8 n/a?

·
Premium Member
9,165 Posts
Cool! I see two newbies from Missouri, one is even from Kansas City!

Welcome to the site!

And, I'd hold off on the Turbocharging a NA 3.8. Just save your money, and get a SuperCoupe (if you just want the speed) or a 4.6 (if you want a good base platform for modding)