1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
I run 5w20 in my 2005 Marquis and 5W30 in the 97 Cougar ... .02

·
Registered
320 Posts
I would stick with the 5-30 and motor craft brand because it is a blended oil.

·
Registered
4,407 Posts
I run 5w-20 in my 95 car.But thats what the motor calls for.I only use Motorcraft oils and Motorcraft filters.

You can use 10w-30.It won't hurt anything and I think it is recommended for engine's with higher miles???

My motor has maybe 12k on it.So thats why I use the 5w-20

·
Registered
38 Posts
A very repuatable ford powertrain engineer and tuner has stated that 10w-30 is acceptable for use in 4.6Ls.
Name a few ... I studied Tribology in School and what MOST people think they know about oil is just that ... They think they know oil and they think they know what's important in an oil for a specific engine ...

There are not many automotive engineers that are Tribologists just the same.. They source out that part of the expertise and interface with each other ... But may not be aware of WHY the blending engineers did it a certain way ...

And honestly in the last 6 years of net forums I have attended and ran, maybe 1-5% of the populace actually knows something about lubricants with enough knowledge to give advice ... The rest are repeaters of other's recommendations, and repeaters of marketing ploys ...

Not trying to stir the pot, but I tend to get tired of all the "motor oil" authorities on the net ... Also, the BEST recommendation I have seen thus far is what the guy above said about, "go with what's on the cap" ...

FWIW, here's a tidbit ... With GF-4 on scene as a general spec, 5W30 is not the same 5W30 it was when these cars were built ...

Oil has changed immensely when they built these cars and went through their protocols ...