TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the tbird world, and was wondering about upper plenums. As I looked around at others car specs no one lists if they have upgraded their upper plenums. Is this upgrade possible? I have a 96 4.6L tbird. The one I'm interested in is the Trickflow piece and possibly a BBK 70 or 75mm TB. Any suggestion or opinion would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
632 Posts
I have a Accufab plenum with a 75mm TB. I gained ~.5mph in the 1/4. Its really not worth it on a stock engine in my opinion. On the other hand throttle response is much better with the bigger TB.

-Andrey

·
Registered
615 Posts
The C&L plenum is also a good pick with a BBK 75mm throttle body, both JL and Hans run that. I also think Hans has a dyno chart posted on MD somewhere.

·
Super Moderator
11,961 Posts
last i heard, JL is running a Bullit intake on his Renegade built engine...im not sure bout Hans, i thought he had a regular PI upper-lower intake setup

i have the C&L/Accufab 75mm TB combo, and so does KrazyT....there is a current thread on the Video section with pics, i believe

·
Registered
615 Posts
My bad, you are right Oscar about JL running the Bullit intake. Too my knowledge he did have the C&L, BBK combo before he got the bulit and I am sure that Hans is running the same.

·
Registered
257 Posts
I have the accufab upper plenum with a 70mm TB.
I noticed a difference in the upper rpms.

Howerver like any bolt on the more you have done the
more you will gain from the bolt on. You have to start
somewere.

Steve 4.6L

·
Registered
166 Posts