TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a few tan stains in the paint of my cougar, A white 95. I figured i should try a clay bar, i have never used one before so i know after i wash the cat i should use the bar on its flat braud side. My question is after i use the bar, what would i use to remove the cay bar's material left on the car? Doe's anyone have any advice on this please let me know.
SAL MR95XR7.

·
Banned
5,377 Posts
i just used a cloth polish towel to remove whatever was left over after spraying and clay'ing the car. same way you remove wax, buff it out or use a dry polish towel.

·
Registered
3,726 Posts
There should be very little if any clay left. The clay glides on top of whatever you use (either the detail spray they usually come with, or a heavy dishwashing liquid mix), and only places that you hit dry or for some reason the clay touched the paint.

I just got done using a clay bar on my 2000 Grand Marquis and my 97 Cougar, the 89 got it done a few months ago, (it is not a clear coat car) and I am beat!

I used the quick detailer spray that came with the bar I got, Meguires I think. After I do a section and can tell that all the particles imbedded in the clear/paint are gone, I buff it with a terry towel or a microfiber towel, depends on what I have and which car. I then put on a polish (Nu Finish) was the car again, and put on a coat of Meguires NXT wax, then another coat of NXT wax, and the cars look like they should.

I hadn't done the 97 ever, and i have owned it a year and a half, I had to do the 2000 Grand Marquis because the wife wore the rear brakes down to metal on metal, and I had rust spots appearing on the bumper, the plastic bumper, so the metal was melting into the clear/paint/plastic and rusting.

·
Registered
871 Posts
Wash the car & leave it wet, then clay bar it, using extra water for lube.
Then after you are done useing the clay bar, wash the car again.