TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm a forum newbie. I have a 1993 T-Bird with the 5.0 motor, and variable assist steering. Power steering Pump and return line are new, however the solenoid for the variable assist is bad and leaking somehow. I replaced all the O rings attempting to salvage the solenoid because I can't buy a new one. So, I did a search here in this excellent forum and saw through other posts that someone had actually mentioned getting rid of the variable assist, but I don't know how to do that. Can I simply buy the pressure line for the cars without Variable Assist and hope that it will bolt up to the pump, deleting the solenoid? Also, could I keep the current steering rack?
What all is necessary to fix this? I would greatly appreciate any help. God bless and have a great Veterans Day :)

Evan

·
Super Moderator
4,925 Posts
You may need to pick up a non-EVO high pressure side fitting for the current pump. The pump's actually the same, but the fitting is different.

However, RockAuto DOES show stock on reman'ed pumps with the EVO already installed. This may be your best bet.

The rack itself is the same, thankfully.

(The link is for a 1991 Cougar 5.0HO - but that's the same setup exactly your car has, so it's a valid cross.)

RwP

·
̇
3,701 Posts
Hi everyone,