TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
very quick question. Finally got my engine out!

So I need to pull my engine, but I dont have a hoist yet. I will be getting one tonight but I want to prep everything to make it a little easier. I was just wondering if I needed to have the hoist hooked up when I remove the engine mount bolts? Do I need a transmission stand if I am unbolting the tranny? Please take it easy on me as this is my first time pulling an engine, I have been searching for about a month for all details and I believe I have the majority of the info. Thanks for any and all help.

·
Premium Member
5,862 Posts
So I need to pull my engine, but I dont have a hoist yet. I will be getting one tonight but I want to prep everything to make it a little easier. I was just wondering if I needed to have the hoist hooked up when I remove the engine mount bolts? Do I need a transmission stand if I am unbolting the tranny? Please take it easy on me as this is my first time pulling an engine, I have been searching for about a month for all details and I believe I have the majority of the info. Thanks for any and all help.
You can unbolt the engine and tranny mounts. If you unbolt the tranny CROSSMEMBER, it will drop in the back - gravity is a law. If you want to prep it for being pulled, do all the other stuff like the fuel lines, wiring, torque converter nuts, vacuum lines, radiator, power steering pump, air conditioner compressor, etc, etc.

That was my "very quick answer", btw ;)

·
Registered
3,779 Posts
also, if you plan to pull only the engine, leaving the trans in the car - you will need something (trans jack?) to hold it up. what i do is label all wires/hoses that need removed, then pull them. less confusion later. good luck.

·
Registered
1,490 Posts
Discussion Starter #6