TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i tried searching...but i am a newbie...

my car has a vibration at idle, that gets worse until ~1200 RPM, and then goes away above that...

recent repairs include -
IAC (thanks to this board, that humming annoyed me forever...)
Plugs, wires, cap, rotor
fuel filter
air filter
ran the koeo, and engine running tests and checked for stored codes - no codes present
pcv valve/screen
oil pan gasket
transmission checked by tranny shop - no go, all good

i am not particualrly mechanically inclined, i don't know if it is a miss or something off balance...(the tune up is making me lean against a miss...)

happens in drive, or park...

sorry for the long post as my first...
thanks for your thoughts-

·
Registered
773 Posts
Check your fireing order you may have gotten a plug wire crossed. also could have a misgapped plug. was it doing it before you tuned it up?

·
Registered
324 Posts
Check your motor mounts, the rubber is probably spilt and will cause idle and
vibration problems. Also your crank shaft dampner (attached to flyweight where
timing marks are) will cause vibration if loose. Unfortunetly I am not sure
how to check the dampner other than removing the flyweight from the crank.

Chris................

·
Premium Member
2,725 Posts
Having just survived a problem like yours (exactly – tried tune up and...),
I can suggest that you take a moment and scoff and scowl at your harmonic balancer !

I re-gapped every plug (twice), pulled every newly made wire, checked the brand new cap and rotor, on and on I went. BUT THEN I decided to break out the good old timing light and to my surprise I had 30 degrees of advance – that isn’t happening in our lifetime.