TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey how do you tell what rear end you have?
i have a 1996 4.6l t bird and am looking to switch to 3.73 gears and i am not sure what rearend i have??

·
Premium Member
5,862 Posts
hey how do you tell what rear end you have?
i have a 1996 4.6l t bird and am looking to switch to 3.73 gears and i am not sure what rearend i have??
What letters/numbers does it say on the door sticker under "AX" or "Axle" ? It's an 8.8" with IRS for sure, but that'll tell you the ratio (if it hasn't been changed).

What XR7-4.6 said works too, lol!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
alright ill go check out my door real quick! but some guy told me 3.73 gears would help acceleration. but i dont know for sure haha im kinda new with gears. thanks for all your help in advance

·
Premium Member
5,862 Posts
the AX number is a 5
Axle code 5 is 3.27 Open (non-locking) differential. 3.73 gives you quicker off the line, but hurts highway mpg slightly. Do some searches around here, quite a few have done that swap.

Good Luck & Happy Holidays!

·
Premium Member
5,862 Posts
so was the guy wrong when he said to drop 3.73 gears in there?
No, but it's quite a job. If you've never installed rear gears before, you will HAVE to get some help with it. It's a big job and must be shimmed correctly or you will wind up with a very LOUD rear end that may or may not last long.

And if you're gonna do that, you might as well get a trak-loc carrier to install as well.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
yeah my shop teacher was a ford tech for 11 years and he said he has done plenty of them haha and we are just getting into gearing and driveline so he said he would just use mine as a demo and do it for me so it kinda works out! ill shadow him so i can learn a thing or two though. should i buy the 3.73 gears for the 8.8 rearend?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #12