TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. I know I'm not a big poster here but I did spend a lot of time creepin on the forum. Anyway, I've been looking for a new job for a few months. I used to be a mechanic at a trucking company, then I was a mechanic at a cranberry marsh. A friend of mine I used to work with told me I had to apply for a job at a paper mill that was going to be taking applications one day.
Around here in central Wisconsin it USED to be if you got into the mill you were set for life. As you can imagine as the digital age rose, the paper industry went down and many paper mills around the are have closed. In my immediate area there are still two paper mills left. One deals specifically in specialty paper such as post-it notes and receipt paper and what not.
I applied at this specialty paper mill. Out of the 437 applicants I was one of the 55 picked for testing and an interview. Out of those 55 people, I was one of the 11 hired. It's a complete change of pace from being a mechanic to where I am now. It's also a huge pay and benefit increase. I love wrenching but this is a great job that used to be the dream job around here. The company that owns the mill is a Canadian company named Domtar. They are very safety conscience and as long as we stay safe at the mill, we will stay open. They are planning a multi million dollar upgrade from coal burning to natural gas, so that makes me believe we will be around for a while.