TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a power tool guy and need some advice on a drill. I need it mostly for polishing headlights and some drilling in metal and want to get a good one so it lasts.

I saw at the store 2 that caught my eye;

1. cordless 18v (variable speed 0-750 rpm's) Clutched
2. corded 5.2 amp (variable speed 0-1500 rpm's) No clutch

Which one would be better? I don't care if it's corded or cordless I just want something that will last

·
Registered
875 Posts
As a carpenter, i use cordless tools all the time. Buy one that uses lithium ion batteries. They cost a bit more than the other rechargeables but the battery life and charge time is far superior. You can buy a cheaper one but when ya go to replace the battery, you'll find that they charge almost as much for that as buying another drill kit. Corded is fine, if your always near a power source. Either way, get a brand name one and you'll be fine.

·
Registered
2,472 Posts
Either is just fine, though if your not going to do any big jobs 1"+ holes I would personally suggest the Cordless. Li-ion are nice just be aware they go from basically full power to nothing with no warning (no slowing).

The best thing you can do help you in your drilling is get good quality drill bits. Nothing made in China. Personally I wouldn't get HSS (high speed steel) but they are fine. I'd suggest Ti-Ni, Cobalt, Black Oxide you should avoid Carbide (sounds like you don't have a need nor the skill set to justify their price). Expect to spend about $2.00 a bit for a good/decent set.

·
Registered
2,073 Posts