TCCoA Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
839 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Waddup Ya'll, Im about to purchase some tires before winter hits here in south dakota, now i narrowed my choices down to two.
235/60/R15 Firestone Firehawks Indy 500's Or
245/60/R15 BF Goodrich Radial T/A's

I am running my stock LX 6.5" rims with KYB GR-2 Struts & Shocks With Eibach Pro Spring Kit. Now we do get all 4 seasons here in south dakota lol, snow,sleet,rain..black ice...lol u name it... this is going to be my daily driver so..what tires hold up best? plus i am a very spirited driver lmao..i want all around performance! and please add if you've had any problems with either tire. thanks for the info! :thumbsup:

·
Voice/Data Guru
7,803 Posts
Firestone Firehawks Indy 500's
Would be my choice IMO. When I get my 17" rims going with the Wide Ovals;)

·
Super Moderator
1997 Thunderbird 4.6, 1998 Mark VIII LSC
9,432 Posts
Firestone Firehawks Indy 500's
Would be my choice IMO. When I get my 17" rims going with the Wide Ovals;)
:zwthstpd:

Had the Indy 500s on the T-bird for a little over a year, now they're on the Cougar. Very good tires, especially for the price. Quite sticky in summertime, and better in snow than I expected. The Wide Ovals are AWESOME tires, albeit for summer only. I have yet to break them free after a summer on the bird.

Know, however, that the wider the tire the worse off you are in snow.

·
Registered
1,916 Posts
If you can only afford one set, get some good winter tires and save up for summers over the winter. Get them in the stock size so you can get the best overall traction, and look for a set of SC wheels for your summer tires. :)

I have General Altimax Artics on my 97 Thunderbird, we got our first snow yesterday and I was stable and had no issues. Not too bad, got them for $72/tire with free shipping, and had them mounted and balanced for $10/tire.

·
Super Moderator
9,432 Posts